

An Chomhairle Náisiúnta Eacnamaíoch agus Shóisialta National Economic & Social Council

Transition Teams—Low Carbon and Digital

Working Group: Terms of Reference & Membership

Revised June 6th 2019

Terms of Reference

Ireland faces an unprecedented challenge and opportunity as it seeks to transition to a low carbon and increasingly digital future. The consensus for urgent action is growing across society, the Oireachtas and government with the understanding that the process of transition should be inclusive and just.

Future Jobs Ireland includes a request for NESC to develop policy recommendations for the operation of Transition Teams to manage the impact of economic transition on vulnerable workers and sectors. This Transition Teams project will be a key input into the search for practical supports to facilitate and ensure that the transition which occurs is just.

The project will provide a forward look at the economy in the context of a transition to low-carbon and more digital future. It will identify sectors, jobs and roles which are most vulnerable to the pressures associated with reducing carbon and increasing digitisation.

It will develop a practical framework to support workers to upskill or retrain. It will make recommendations for core practices, local, national and international alliances, and appropriate scaling efforts that promote simultaneous job and environmental quality. The Transition Team project will include the following areas of work:

- identification of those groups of workers or enterprise sectors and regions where help is needed most;
- conceptual thinking on the nature of low carbon and digital transition, including a focus
 on the principles of a 'just' transition and how other countries are managing the
 transition process, in particular, the downside risks;
- identification and examination of relevant supports and protections along with mitigation and scaling efforts, provided by various Government departments and agencies, including national and international potential sources of funding and collaborative alliances;
- frameworks for enhancing utilization of products, services and business alliances, that can improve the economic status for vulnerable workers and regions; and,
- augmenting work underway in the Midlands and in Bord na Mona.



An Chomhairle Náisiúnta Eacnamaíoch agus Shóisialta National Economic & Social Council

The role of the Working Group is to guide, support and inform the work of the Secretariat and the Council in developing recommendations and practical guidance. It will:

- help define and shape the overall conceptual framing of the project and approach to the Government request as per Ambition 1.7 of Future Jobs Ireland;
- help identify key areas of vulnerability associated with low carbon and digital future;
- strengthen and extend the supports and services available and consider how to manage the impact of carbon and digital transition on vulnerable workers and regions more effectively; and
- provide advice on the development of policy recommendations for the creation of Transition Teams and support the finalisation of reports for submission to the NESC Council.

Drafting will be undertaken by the Secretariat.

The Working Group will meet 4 to 5 times between May 2019 and December 2019, with first meeting to take place May 9th 2019.

The Transition Team project will be discussed by the Council at meetings in Q3 and Q4. A NESC council report and recommendations is to be produced at the end Q4 2019.

Membership of the Working Group

Member	Organisation
Sinead O'Flanagan (Chair)	Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI)
Macdara Doyle	ICTU
Joe Cunningham	SIPTU
Conor Minogue	Ibec
Erik O'Donovan	Ibec
Kate Ruddock	Friend of the Earth
James Doorley	National Youth Council of Ireland (NYCI)
Edel Kelly	IFA
Geraint Ellis	Queens University Belfast
Elenor Denny	Trinity College Dublin (TCD)
Philip Hamell	
Paul Donnelly	Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin)
Chris Van Egeraat	Maynooth University
Ruth Morrissy	Department of Business, Enterprise & Innovation (DEBI)
Andrew Forde	Department of Rural & Community Development (DRCD)
Kathleen Gavin	Department of Education and Skills (DES)
(tbc)	Department of Communications, Climate Action & Environment (DCCAE)
Dermot Coates	Department of Employment Affairs & Social Protection (DEASP)
Eric Doyle	Department of the Taoiseach

Secretariat

Larry O'Connell, Damian Thomas, Jeanne Moore, Edna Jordan and Paula Hennelly.