You are here: Home > Our Organisation

Our Organisation

The National Economic and Social Council (NESC) was established in 1973 and advises the Taoiseach on strategic policy issues relating to sustainable economic, social and environmental development in Ireland.

The current Council term started in June 2022. The members of the Council are appointed by the Taoiseach for a three to five year term. These members are representatives of business and employers’ organisations, trade unions, agricultural and farming organisations, community and voluntary organisations, and environmental organisations; as well as heads of Government departments and independent experts.

The composition of the NESC Council means that it plays an important and unique role in bringing different perspectives from civil society together, along with those of Government. This helps NESC to analyse the challenges facing Irish society and to develop a shared understanding among its members of how to tackle these challenges.

The NESC Council meets on a quarterly basis. These meetings are chaired by the Secretary General of the Department of the Taoiseach. At each meeting the Council discusses reports drafted by the NESC Secretariat. The work programme of NESC is decided on an annual basis by the NESC Council, with inputs from the Department of the Taoiseach.

The Council also works at international level with the national economic and social councils and environmental councils of other EU member states. It is a member of AICESIS, the International Association of Economic and Social Councils and Similar Institutions.

To view NESC’s current Work Programme, click here.

Follow us @NESCireland